Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / CWI
- - By young Date 10-27-2001 17:08
I would like to become a CWI but I don't know what all is required and how to go about getting my certification. I have been welding for 4 1/2 years. Will that experiance help me?
Parent - By BCSORT (*) Date 10-27-2001 22:17
It was a little over a year ago when I was in the same situation you are now. The first thing you need to do is call AWS and order a copy of AWS QCI, this is the Standard for Qualification and Certification of Welding Inspectors. They will send it to you free of charge with just about every thing you will need to get started. Then you need to see if you have the required amount of experience. If so, order some sudy material from the product catalog and get to it.

Good luck
Parent - By DGXL (***) Date 10-27-2001 22:58
Follow the advice of the other response, only ask for a "CWI Packet" which includes everything you need to get started with your certification (QC1, visual acuity form, etc.) Good Luck with your exam.
Parent - - By don (**) Date 10-29-2001 20:03