Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Wharf Construction using E71 T-8 wire
- - By Weld0253 Date 10-31-2008 18:22
Hello,

I am new to this web site.  We are currently building a wharf with approximately 50 welders using a 1.8mm E71 T-8 wire.  The majority of the welding is joining 16mm thick piles to headstocks.  The jetty is approx. 3.5km long and the wharf extension is about 0.5km.  All the welders on site have been qualified in the 4G position (single bevel one sided butt) using 16mm plate.  The client has called for 100% ultrasonic and Magnetic Particle testing on all butt welds and we are rarely getting failures from this testing.  Due to the marine environment and the clients painting specification, the visual welding requirements are quite stringent.  We are having to blast and repair the welds up to 4 or 5 times before the final weld visual inspections meet the standard required by our client.   I have worked on other large projects using E71-T1 wires and haven't had the level of surface defects I am seeing on this project.  Due to the strong coastal breezes, I feel a T-8 wire is the only option we have, unless we use a T-1 and tarp to block the wind?

Can anyone offer some advice on practical solutions to the problems we are experiencing with the T-8 wire.  Perhaps we could try a different wire size or there might be other options that I could consider to reduce the amount of re-work, which is costing considerable dollars in re-work.

Thanks in advance
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 10-31-2008 22:45