Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Just passed CWI
- - By unclematt (***) Date 11-19-2008 02:02
Hello all;
  I have been reading these forums for about 6 months and have really enjoyed reading material I find interesting. I had to retake Part B of the exam on Nov. 1st in Portland, Or. I have been sweating the results ever since then but I found out tonight that I passed; barely; but passed. I have been welding for about 17 years and have been around welding all my life. I was mainly involved in the oil and gas industry but I have done welding in other industries such as overhead cranes and projects for the U.S military. I am now ready to get on the other side of the hood and hopefully help other people as I was helped when I was starting out. Question: How hard is it to break out in the inspection industry? I understand I am a green hand and am willing and eager to start on the bottom rung. I want to get as much experience as I can. Again, thanks for the posts and look forward to hearing from you. Matt
Parent - - By Superflux (****) Date 11-19-2008 13:19
Unclematt, Congratulations!
and welcome to "the club". Now the real horror begins! You will soon discover that as a CWI, you have just become ("expected" to be anyways) the Guru of all welding prosesses and procedures (and YES, you are expected to be master manipulator of molten metal), instructor, engineer, metallurgist, draftsman/detailer, advice columnist, etc.
All joking aside, being a CWI is a remarkable, challenging and fascinating carreer move without equal. I see it as an engineering job you are qualified by certification to perform with out the B.S. degree (although this would be of immense benefit) and has the potential to reap finacial rewards above and beyond mere mortal welders.