Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / New to Tig????
- - By Brian T. Beard (**) Date 11-19-2008 06:25
I am new to the Dynasty 200dx and I am having a heck of a time with the tip on the tungsten balling. I am using 2%. Any help would be good. Thanks
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 11-19-2008 06:37
Hello Brian, two things for consideration with the information you have supplied thus far. I am thinking you are referring to welding aluminum/magnesium possibly? First off what diameter of tungsten are you using and what thickness and amperage range are you welding on? You may need to increase the diameter of the tungsten providing you don't have other machine adjustments that need to be looked at. Next, go through your instruction manual and determine the proper way to adjust the arc balance control, it is likely that you are running with the balance too far to the cleaning side of the setting. Try moving this adjustment towards the penetration side little by little, you should notice an improvement in the condition that you have mentioned. Others will likely have suggestions to stay tuned. Enjoy your machine and best regards, Allan
Parent - - By Brian T. Beard (**) Date 11-19-2008 06:40
I am welding stainless with 308 filler, 3/32 tung., 135 amp, 3x3x1/8 square tubing. It looks to be penatrating very good.
Parent - - By Brian T. Beard (**) Date 11-19-2008 06:43
Settings are as follows: dc, tig lift arc, rmt std
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 11-19-2008 06:53