Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Transformer welding
- - By Timbuktu (*) Date 11-19-2001 20:13
Hi, I'm a high school student engaged in an engineering project which requires us to develop a method for welding the seam between the tank and cover of a high voltage power transformer.
At present the tank and cover of transformers are bolted in position. However, there is environmental concern that the insulating oil from inside the transformer may leak out. So we are planning to replace the bolted seal with a welded joint.
We are planning to do Gas Shielded Metal Arc Welding or Manual Metal Arc Welding.
The problem is that the weld has to be strong enough to withstand the stresses imposed by a vacuum of 3 milllibars and the lifting of the 80 ton transformer. The weld has to last about 30 yrs and retain a leakproof seal.
The most important thing is to ensure that during the process of welding the fumes do not contaminate the inside of the transformer or the assembly area around it. The core and windings cannot be allowed to contain more than 0.5% moiture. To stop it taking up too much moisture, welding has to be completed as quickly as possible (approx 8 hrs) and a drying agent has to be used.
Can anyone please help me tackle this problem and advice me in how to stop moisture uptake and contamination of the transformer? Any help will be much appreciated.
Parent - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 11-22-2001 19:38
Dear Timbuktu,
Let's use our common sense (or good judgement, if you prefer) and look at the problem from a practical point of view.