Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / cwi exam
- - By willbergj (**) Date 12-03-2008 18:15
i have a problem i cant seem to pass the d1.1 code portion of the cwi exam.  i have passed the fundimental and the practical with an average of greater than a 74 so i have to only retake the code portion.  i just called aws and found out i still failed the retake d1.1.  i am a welding instructor and do not use the code daily, the only reason i want the cwi is to offer certification and qualification my students. 
i have to figure out a way to get 40 hrs. of training and somehow pass this thing.
any suggestions? ideas?

thanks
Parent - - By hogan (****) Date 12-03-2008 21:13
willbergj,
Sorry to hear that you're still having trouble. I have noticed that you have posted a few time in relation to this topic. If you don't mind me asking, what is your experience? I noticed that you mentioned that you attended a seminar with no prior experience. While this is not uncommon, it is a little odd that you are welding instructor and have no prior experience?
One of the first thing I would consider if I were in your shoes is to contact scott helzer. For the price you paid for the seminar, most instructors/organizations will offer additional training if student have continued difficulty in passing the exam. As other have suggested to you in the past, use the search function to research this topic. I doubt that anyone will tell you anything you have not heard before. You know what are your having trouble with. If you are not able to pass the exam after all of the advise that is given, the same advise that is given to others that ask the same question, then maybe the CWI is not your calling. I'm not trying to be a prick (sometimes it just happens) just offering my observations.

Also, I have a question about one of your statements.