Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / miller bobcat 225D
- - By rangerman9389 Date 12-05-2008 16:46
hello guys. i have recently purchased a used early 90's miller bobcat 225D. obviously the D stands for Diesel. it has a 16 horse deutz diesel with about 2000 hours on her. shes a strong running machine and i got a pretty good steal on her $950. how i'm hopeing to get some advice from some of you guys that know more about these welders than me. my problem is when the machine is idled down and i go to strike up she wants to stick every time. like its not producing enough amperage while at idle to light the rod up while it gose from idle to full rpms. now trust me its not me. i have been welding for 4 years now and i know how to start a rod. but even at full weld power she just dosn't seem like shes lighting up the rod like she should be. i'm hoping that someone out there can tell me what i can do to solve this problem, wether theres some contact points i can clean up or something of that nature?

thanks in advance, Jeremy
Parent - - By Johnyutah (**) Date 12-05-2008 17:11
Go to rig pics and pm steve the one with the trailer pic he is a miller man. I would just tell you to throw it in the gutter and go buy another lol.
Parent - - By gshuma (**) Date 12-06-2008 00:48
I can't help you with the welder but I can warn you about the Deutz.
Pull the sheetmetal and blow out all the fins before you start and every year. Also torque the head bolts every 2000 hours.
Those things do run forever but they require some attention.
Parent - - By rangerman9389 Date 12-07-2008 01:31
yeah i have been told about re torquing the head bolts before, but the problem is i can't find an engine manual for the damn thing.
Parent - By Regmanager (**) Date 12-08-2008 14:27