Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Inconel??
- - By Rob Wade Date 12-07-2008 14:48
Good morning everyone. I am a noob here and don't have a ton of tig experience so I am looking for advice/suggestions. While I do have moderate tig skills, I do not do a ton of tig welding. I am the only person at my shop that knows how to tig welding. I have done a fair amount of fabrication using mild and stainless steel and I also do custom exhaust/header fabrication work as a side job. My question is this. We are designing some cold spray technology where I work, and we are going to be using some inconel material for a portion of the machine. I need to tig weld some 1" thick inconel material to a thin gauge inconel tube. I have never worked with inconel before and I realize it is very expensive, so I am trying to keep my learing curve (read that material scrap rate) to a minimum. Does anyone have any advice for me? As I understand it so far, I need to use inconel 625 rod and my argon and tungston selection are the same as mild or stainless steel. I have done some searching, but so far I haven't come up with much. Any thoughts/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Rob
Parent - By millerman (**) Date 12-07-2008 15:09
from what little i had had with inconel it welds pretty much like sst hope this helps try some beads on sst to get the fill
thanks
mac
Parent - - By Jenn (***) Date 12-07-2008 16:34 Edited 12-07-2008 17:02