Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Frustrated Boilermaker CWI
- - By dazwelding Date 12-16-2008 03:51
Hello,
I am a degreed Welding Engineer with hands on welding experience (including pressure, common arc), welding engineering experience, QC experience (including CWI), and Management experience.  I am a Union Boilermaker working in QC/Weld Tech, and because we change jobs frequently, I constantly have to prove myself at least once a year, usually more.  I am "young" and I guess I and just tired of it.  I am tired of superintendents talking down to me, and the occasional foreman trying to tell me I don't have enough experience to mark his crew's welds.  I am also a real "go getter" and that seams to cause me more harm than good.  Sure, they'll never run me off, but they give all the "gravy work" to the loads.   While I run up on the unit and "get some", the loads are down on the ground performing welder quals, and all the ground work.  I have 12 years of experience in the welding industry and I feel like my skills go to waste most of the time because I "don't have grey hair."  I know ASME IX inside and out.  I surprise myself time and time again when I have to explain parts of the code to other Inspectors.  Information I take as common code knowledge other "grey haired" Inspectors can't even comprehend.  I guess don't really have a question, I am just looking for advise and/or someone who has gone through/is going through the same kind of situation. 
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 12-16-2008 12:47 Edited 12-16-2008 12:51