Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Welding with Flux Coated Stainless filler wire
- - By woodman17086 Date 01-10-2009 16:19
I have a job prospect welding Schedule 40 30" Stainless 304 pipe with Flux coated filler wire.  I've never used it before and we've had more than 30 men fail X-Rays on the job and ultimately have been removed from the job.  I'm told I'm next on the list to give it a shot.  I was hoping for some pointers to make this a successful aadventure!

I've read about the wire and amperage ranges.  Now I need some pointers on the actual process.  Any Info would be appreciated especially any documentation on the process.
Parent - By upten (*) Date 01-12-2009 01:07
use a big enough gap to place your wire on the inside of the pipe. i have used it on 18 inch pipe .mostly in papermills. you only use this on the root pass.
Parent - - By spgtti (**) Date 01-16-2009 03:09
Definitely open up your gap otherwise the flux on the wire prevents you from getting any kind of internal root reinforcement. Welds like crap but works better than solar-flux.
Parent - - By scrappywelds (***) Date 01-28-2009 23:29
wlds best when the gap is opened up to weld from the inside. then grind out the slag like a 6010 root. last flapper wheel off the smoke oxidation around the heat affected zone. welded hundred pounds of this type of wire, alot better than solar flux in my opinion.
Parent - - By spgtti (**) Date 01-29-2009 02:19
It should be called solar-sux. That stuff is a sham. I spent all day battling a fit and root in a piece of 26" sch10 304ss.
Parent - - By mightymoe (**) Date 01-30-2009 02:11
would it have been faster to tig all the way?
Parent - - By upten (*) Date 02-01-2009 21:27
this is a tig welding process . with flux coated wire . no need to purge the pipe
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 02-07-2009 15:57