Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / help tig welding 1/4" and 3/8" thick aluminium plate
- - By mountspire (*) Date 01-14-2009 21:14
I was needing some info for tungsten size and amperage setting for tig welding this plate up. I am using a 1/8" pure tungsten running pure argon on 6061-T6 Al plate. I am having issues with the tungsten burning off. I turned down my cleaning to see if it will help but I am afraid I may be running it to hot causing cracking in the weld. This is my first time welding this thick of Al material. thank you for any info and guidance you all can give me.
                                                                                                                                                  Alan
Parent - - By Shane G Date 01-14-2009 21:53 Edited 01-14-2009 22:45
Hello,

Not sure what machine your using or torch size but I was using 5/32" ceriated tungsten at work to weld 1.5" thick 6061 with a new Dynasty 700 also with pure argon. We were also told to maybe go to 3/16" if the tungsten was burning up or splitting.

Now you could also switch over and run DC with pure helium and stay with your current tungsten size or go back to 3/32" it will penetrate alot better but will seem to run dirty leaving black soot to brush off.If your running to a wps you will most likely have to run a procedure for the swith to DC and helium.

Also we had a preheat off 100° and a interpass of 400° called out.This might be another way to do it with AC and argon.Or maybe use AC with a argon/helium mix maybe 50/50?

What type of filler are you using 4043,5356? We had not luck at all with 5356 and DC because of the joint design being a u-groove about .750" deep and .800" wide. AC with the large tungsten and Dynasty 700 at about 350 amps finally got past x-ray.
Parent - By mountspire (*) Date 01-15-2009 17:52 Edited 01-15-2009 17:54