Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / what's the importance of Certification?
- - By BasnettUSMC (*) Date 01-15-2009 23:20
I'm a newbie when it comes to welding, but, I am experienced when it comes to doing jobs. I guess that I'm not getting it, because, I have done a lot of welding jobs without any type of certifications. I also do not know the importance of the welding codes, and would like to get a better grasp of all of the things that are being introduced to me since I have recently become a member of AWS. Do you think that anyone could help me with this?
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 01-15-2009 23:40
Hello BasnettUSMC, first off, welcome to the forum. The short answers to your questions might go something like this. Many folks do a lot of welding that doesn't require any sort of certification. Plenty of work is done with regard to welding that isn't covered by welding codes. Welding certifications generally come into play when the welding that is being done is of a level of importance to require verification of skills and repeatability of those skills. Codes provide documented procedures and descriptions of the necessary components that have to come together to provide quality, safety, longevity, and repeatability of all of these factors. This scenario is certainly a compressed description and answer to your question, others will likely expand on this a great deal and give you many more perceptions and explanations. Once again, welcome to the forum and welcome to AWS. Best regards, Allan
Parent - - By BasnettUSMC (*) Date 01-16-2009 13:50
Hey,
first off I'd like to say thanks to aevald and ringo. I'm about to start going to college to get my welding certs but I don't know what type of certifcation I should test for, etc. and would like some advice or further detail on the variety of the different certifications. I appreciate your help, thanks gents