Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Some Cup walk tips
- - By supermoto (***) Date 01-20-2009 21:16
I have been a welder for about 7 years and most of it has been GTAW.  I have not done a lot of Pipe.  I have taught myself to cup walk with the help of previous posts on here and you tube.

My question is after making the root pass do you still continue to cup walk all the way to the cap?  Or do you free hand the rest.  Also do you limit the size of width of the bead like D1.1 limits the maximum width of a single pass.  Or would you run smaller weave beads or stringers or what. 

I have been practicing on 1 inch thick 8" pipe.

Thanks
Parent - - By Metarinka (****) Date 01-20-2009 23:01
interesting I always free handed the root and maybe 1 or 2 more passes then walked the cup on out including the cover.
On the typical double bevel pipe between using the right sized cup and stick out you can set it so  your cup simply rests on both edges of the bevel during the root and  hot pass. Once the joint is to wide to permit this I switch to walking the cup.

If I understand your question right... Yes I personally limit my cup walking bead width to the same as if free handing, in particular the cover pass can end up being several weave beads that are stacked side by side.
Parent - - By patg (**) Date 01-20-2009 23:59
yep same here i free hand the bead the bead and (walk) the rest
as a rule of thumb every where i have worked its any thing over 1/2'' is @ least a 2 bead cap
                                                      example    l- 1''- l  would be @ least a 2 bead cap
                                                                      l     l
                                                                       l   l
                                                                         l
Parent - - By supermoto (***) Date 01-21-2009 15:11