Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Handrail ready to powder coat
- - By dschlotz (***) Date 01-25-2009 03:07
We have to build handrail for a California project that involves OSHPOD. The spec on the finish is NAAMM #1. That means no scratches or grinder marks. The weld areas must disappear. Material: 1 1/2" .120 wall carbon tubing A513.  GMAW with .035 70S-6. I have herd of a Flex finger grinder to dress up the welds. Will it work? Any tips. The horizontal members are 3" apart. 500 plus welds. I have never done this before. We are not going to powder coat but it has to look good enough. It will be hot dip galvanized, and shop buffed after.

Thanks

Dennis
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 01-25-2009 03:36
Seems to me that hot dip galvanizing is going to make all your marks go away anyway.  Any buffing done then will be the true finish product.  You wouldn't want any major grinder marks, but it really should not be that critical to spend too much time making it look like an automobile finish.  Does this finish code give you application examples? And does this finish have to be accomplished before galvanizing?  I can see smoothing things after the hot dip because that is going to be a rough finish with some very sharp areas.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 01-25-2009 04:06
   I used the edge of a flap disk on a 4 1/2" angle grinder to blend the welds on ralings I built, it worked well, but does take some time. The nicer You weld, the less You will grind.

A really small air powered belt grinder ["Dynafile"]  might help too.

I too think hot dip galvanizing will hide minor grinding marks, and that some finishing will be needed after. I think "buffed" with a buffing wheel & compound would be a waste of time, I am not familliar with the finish spec You mentioned.
Parent - By dschlotz (***) Date 01-26-2009 19:22