Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / I'm new to AWS/forums/welding.
- - By Joshua Fanene Date 01-28-2009 00:03
Hey, there. I am looking at options for a change in career. I just enrolled in an introductory class on welding at Laney College in Oakland, California. Anyhow, I have a million questions stewing, but for now I just want to say hello and will post more later. Greetings all!
Parent - By OBrien (***) Date 01-28-2009 00:14
Well welcome.  There are a lot of very smart people on here that are willing to help you out tons.  Don't worry about asking questions.
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 01-28-2009 06:42
Hello Joshua, and to second OBrien's statement, Welcome. Take some time and check out some of the topics, the questions, answers, and other information and comments. I'm sure you will find all sorts of different things to keep your interest peaked and as I believe you said, give you more reasons to ask more questions. Best regards, Allan
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 01-28-2009 15:39
Joshua,

Laney has an excellent reputation. I knew and worked with a number of the instructors there in the 80's and 90's. Even lectured there a time or two.

Laney has had good relationships with the trade unions... Pile drivers, Iron workers etc.

Unless things have changed drasticlly you are in very good hands.

Bring your questions and welcome!
Parent - By automobilexyz Date 07-21-2019 09:50
Hi

Me also New and After Long Time I am Back Here
- - By mariagarcia (*) Date 03-19-2019 07:22
The Certified Welder program is a performance-based program with no prerequisite courses or certifications required. There is a provision to test to a company-supplied or non-code welding specification. Tests for Certified Welder (CW) are performed at AWS Accredited Testing Facilities located throughout the world.
Parent - By WeldinFool (**) Date 03-19-2019 18:12