Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Good FCAW for "hobby" use? more...
- - By DaveSisk (**) Date 01-13-2002 12:58
Hi folks:

I'm looking to pick up (and learn to use) a light-duty flux core arc welder for hobby use. First project will be to make two end-tables with "wrought iron" looking frames that will hold a ceramic tile top. I found this inexpensive welder on www.harborfreight.com. Please let me know if you you think this would be sufficient for what I need (I'm a total newbie at this). Here are the specs:

Chicago Electric 90 AMP, 115 VOLT FLUX-CORED WIRE WELDER
The easiest way to weld sheet metal and light carbon steel. Specifically designed to use self-shielding flux-cored welding wire, eliminating any need for gas and regulators normal MIG welders require. The optional 7-1/2'' reel adapter lets you use 11 pound wire reels. Includes: mask, brush/hammer, flux-cored wire, torch, tip & manual.
Model: Chicago Electric Welding
Input: 115 volt, 15 amps, single phase
Welding current: 55 to 90 amps
Self-regulating wire speed control
Thermal protection with warning lights
Output: 10% duty cycle @ 80 amps; 21.2 volts AC
Wire size: .023" to .030"
Shipping weight: 49 lbs.
ITEM 36689-6VGA
$139.99

Thanks in advance!
Dave
Parent - By dasimonds (**) Date 01-13-2002 15:50
Dave,
The 10% duty cycle @ 80 amps is rather on the low side. It indicates that the machine will only run 1 minute out of every 10 minutes. This means you'll weld for 1 minute, then you'll be waiting 9 minutes before you can weld again. The machine will heat up while you are welding and cause the thermal protection to kick in, which will shut the machine down until it has cooled down.
I'd also be cautious of self regulating wire speed control myself, but it might not be a bad thing in your case, with your lack of experience and all.