Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / inverter welding machines
- - By Chris Rose Date 01-19-2002 05:17
Is anyone in education/training using inverter type welding machines, specifically in secondary and post-secondary facilities? I am planning on upgrading the equipment in my program and I am looking at the Miller XMT 456 as the power source. I have no direct knowledge about this particular piece of equipment. I have seen and used the Lincoln inverter V350 Pro and I was very impressed with it. I am a die-hard Miller fan though, and I would like the extra current output of the XMT 456 over the V350 Pro. However, I have been told of some mechanical problems a local company is having with their XMT 456 and I was wondering if this was an isolated problem or something inherent in the Miller inverter line?
Parent - - By DGXL (***) Date 01-19-2002 17:47
CR,
A few years back I purchased 2 - Dimension 452's, 2 - Phoenix 456's (CC/CV) and 2 - XMT 304's (CC/CV). The equipment themselves are excellent welding power sources. The problem I encountered is that the welders refuse to take advantage of the pulsing on the inverters. The Phoenix and Dimension machines were used in a mechanized environment. The XMT's are used on the floor which get moved and used for different applications.

It seems the welders don't think it's welding unless it's making all the noise they are accustomed to hearing when using GMAW-P. They are constantly changing the parameters for procedures we qualified using pulsed MIG. I know there are opinions about the use of pulsing, but I have found it to be ideal for "Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel", or AESS. One advantage is that there is no post weld cleaning. Zero spatter. The ability to use spray arc in all positions. Less smoke during welding. Reduced heat input. Many adavantages with inverters.