Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / arc blow problem
- - By gump Date 01-22-2002 23:30
I am a welding instructor at a comunity college. We have 18 booths that are all connected and the machines are all grounded to the booth frames. We are experiencing arc blow in all booths. We are also a certification facility, and this arc blow is very frustrating for the students. We have tried several things from tacking different places, to direct ground from the machine to the work piece, with no good results.
One proposed solution is to have ground cables connected to the booths and run them outside away from the building to ground rods, however this is a costly endeavor for an experiment.
If anyone has had simular problems and resolved them or if you have an idea for solving the problem please feel free to give me your suggestions. Thanks Andy
Parent - By kam (**) Date 01-23-2002 12:20
I had a similar problem but it was on a single booth. Found that my fixture had become magnitized. Maybe this is the case for you. I bought a cheapy gauss meter and proved it. Problem was solved by changing the location of the ground on the welding table and demaging the fixture.
I would have thought a dirrect ground would have taken care of it.

Will be interesting to see what others have to say.

Best of luck to you.

kam
Parent - By RonG (****) Date 01-23-2002 17:30
Throw a few loops of Stinger or Ground cable around the fixture and pull the magnetizem out of it while you weld, or if you have a Magna-Flux machine you can use that for demag-ing.
Parent - - By 357max (***) Date 01-25-2002 15:17