Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / RT Requirement With PQRs
- - By Ke1thk (**) Date 03-24-2009 18:17
I'm updating my procedures and welder qualifications.  Do all AWS Codes require RT testing of PQR's prior to tensile and bend testing.  I know that D1.1 does.  I'm working with D1.2 and D1.6.

Thank you,

Keith
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 03-27-2009 03:04
Short answer, no.

Each D1.X code has specific requirements and tests to be performed when qualifying a PQR.

Best regards - Al
Parent - - By Ke1thk (**) Date 03-31-2009 15:39
That's what I thought.

Thanks,

Keith
Parent - By Kix (****) Date 03-31-2009 16:38
I know D1.2 doesn't
Parent - - By bozaktwo1 (***) Date 04-01-2009 16:48
Keith,

I am somewhat new to writing procedures, and one thing that I have discovered is that the code you're qualifying a procedure to is not all you need.  Have a copy of B2.1 handy, as well.  After struggling through my first PQR with D1.2, I started using B2.1 as the controlling specification for the entire PQR, WPS and WPQTR qualification process.  The materials, joint designs and acceptance criteria still come from the code book, but B2.1 gives a good foundation for everything else.  Every WPS I qualify now cites B2.1 and the code as the controlling specs, and it's good enough for a couple of my large aerospace customers.

Good luck!
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-02-2009 04:08 Edited 04-03-2009 00:19