Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Engine Driven Welders
- - By DaveP66 (*) Date 02-08-2002 08:06
Hello, I have been welding sturctural steel for almost 5 years now and have used shop machines and engine driven welders (diesel). I noticed that the engine driven welders seem to have some struggle with 6011. Seems like it has no "drive" or ability to penetrate deep like the shop welders..i have to end up turning up the amperage quite a bit. The welder i have now i have to weld at 145 amps on 1/8 6011 to perform like 70 amps on a shop welder. I also noticed the 7018 doesnt run the same on the engine driven welders. Its like its not dipositing the metal as smoothly and consistantly..i have ground down and buffed pieces of A36 carbon steel to pure metal..totaly clean...and still...there seems to be a very big difference between the two...am i crazy...or is this just the way diesel welders perform?

David
Parent - By Michael Sherman (***) Date 02-08-2002 12:13
David, sounds like there is something wrong here. Not to be offensive, but either the machine is not operating properly or you are not setting it up right. It sounds like you do not have the right polarity on the gas drive. This would cause the exact symptoms you are describing. Make certain that you have electrode positive for E7018 and E6011. E6011 is also an AC rod, but it will run okay on DC. Please write back if this does not solve your problems and we will try something else.

Respectfully,
Mike Sherman
Shermans Welding
Parent - By Mike Brace (**) Date 02-08-2002 12:38