Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Oxyacetylene Tank Safety
- - By HNirider Date 05-19-2009 00:55
All,

I'm a hobby welder (stick) but am about to get a hand-me-down gas setup.

I've got to pick the tanks up in New Orleans and drive them home to Houston.

Is it safe to lay the tanks down in the back of my truck?

Any tips on how to safely get this done would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hank
Parent - By tazmannusa (**) Date 05-19-2009 01:36
No problem just make sure caps are on and they are secured , just stand the acetylene bottle upright for a while before you use it
Tom
Parent - - By raftergwelding (*****) Date 05-19-2009 03:52
yes remeber the caps and lay the caps facting the cab of the truck just in case something happens and a cap and valve get knocked off the shoot thru the tail gate and not the cab of the truck
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 05-19-2009 11:46
Check with your welding supplier to see if they will refill tanks they do not own. Most suppliers will not handle someone else's tanks for liability and legal reasons. The trip to pick up the tanks may be a waste of time and gasoline unless there are other reasons to justify the trip.

Best regards - Al
Parent - By Jssec (**) Date 05-19-2009 11:59
All tanks must have a pressure test date stamped on the head check near the cap ring for a date I think it is every five years. If the tanks are out of date they can not be filled and you must pay for the testing. As stated above most companies will not fill or test tanks they don't own or sell.
Parent - By johnnyh (***) Date 05-19-2009 15:56
vertical. you dont want to kill the person driving behind you either.
Parent - - By Northweldor (***) Date 05-19-2009 12:35
Best practice is to transport cylinders upright and secured.
Parent - By jrw159 (*****) Date 05-19-2009 13:57
Nice visual!! :-)
Parent - By FixaLinc (****) Date 05-19-2009 20:09