Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Weldability of Powdered Metals
- - By Timmmt Date 02-21-2002 20:31
My company is investigating the welding of powder metal components in a dynamically loaded application. We currently use some small components but only in a non-loaded application and are using the GMAW process with E-70 S-3 electrode and 95-5 Argon Oxygen blend with bad results. The welds are just full of porosity and are extremely brittle. I am looking for information, specifically, process requirements and physical properties of powdered metals in the "as welded" condition. I tell the "Engineers" that it's not a good idea to do this but, I'm just a welder. Thanx, Tim Tompkins AWS-CWI-CW
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 02-22-2002 17:39
What alloys are you wanting to weld. Is it plain C/Mn steel? If so, why do they want to make these parts from powder metal?

Regards
Niekie
Parent - - By Timmmt Date 02-23-2002 11:17
First, the Company is trying to save money and most of the parts we are looking at require machining for size, shape and threads. We currently purchase these components in 1010 ~ 1026 grade steels and weld them to stampings made of HR sheet steel in the same class using the GMAW process. "Casting" these parts out of powdered metal will save us thousands of dollars a month vs the costs of machining. I have looked high and low trying to find information about the weldability and process parameters required to attach these parts to our stampings with little sucess.
The product Material Designation of the powdered metal parts is F-0005 with an Fe content of 97.4 ~ 99.7 and a C content of 0.3 min to 0.6 maximum.
From all indications, the materials resemble cast iron and depending upon the powder mix, cure time, post processes and other factors drastically effect the microstructure.