Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Cracked weld Compressor Repair?
- - By awspartb (***) Date 06-07-2009 08:22
I have a neighbor who has a very old air compressor (maybe 50 years or so) that has a leak in it.  It has a welded nut on the bottom of it used for a support stud.  The nut is leaking around the edge of the weld bead where it is attached to the shell of the compressor.  It's cracked half way around the weld bead.  The compressor appears to be made of very thin steel.  I'm wondering if it's safe to weld on this or should I tell him no due to safety.  I don't want anyone to get hurt. The compressor is about 3 feet long and around 14" or so in diameter.  I'm a welder by trade but would be doing this as a favor and not charging him or anything.  I am very reluctant to do this job.  Opinions appreciated
Parent - - By jarcher (**) Date 06-07-2009 11:59
Sounds like there is a crack around the nut through the compressor wall. A brazing or soldering operation would work as well as fusion welding IMHO, but the coolant will have to be released in any case. Nothing is going to seal the crack with coolant vaporizing and escaping out the crack while welding, brazing, or soldering. You could attempt an epoxy like J-B Weld with the coolant still in the compressor, but I'm not to sure this would work well, I would think the vibration of the compressor sets up cyclic stresses at the nut, probably why there is a crack in the first place. I'm not too sure how well an epoxy would retard further cracking either, but it may be worth a first try, and it is something your neighbor can do himself.
Parent - - By awspartb (***) Date 06-07-2009 12:19
Maybe I wasn't clear but it's the air tank that is leaking. 
Parent - - By jarcher (**) Date 06-07-2009 12:29