Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Question about Flux Core
- - By mcphilly Date 06-12-2009 04:27
Hello , I was wonder if someone on here could tell me why it is that flux core wires do not like to run smooth over 7018 . I work as a union Iron worker mainly running coreshield 8 or 232 .....5/64 wire........It has puzzled me for years and I thought I would see if any of you on here could give me an answer ?

We recently started running the Hobart XLR wire and I have to say that it is a very smooth running wire , has anybody used that stuff I guess its pretty new ?

thanks
Parent - - By dmilesdot (**) Date 06-12-2009 11:59
If you are asking about running the self sheilding flux core over smaw or vice versa it has to do with the aluminum that is added to the flux core.  Its a real incompatable situation with the quality of the completed weld in question.
Dave
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 06-12-2009 17:56
Hello David, do you by chance have a source or resource that could explain that any further? I know that question has been a topic on the forum before and I have also been told that it isn't "OKAY" to run E6010 over E7018 weld deposits, yet it is okay to run E7018 over E6010. On another occasion where these topics came up, there were concerns by a number of folks with repair type situations on equipment or other items or possible remodels in structural situations where there might be compatibility issues with mixing processes from the old to the new. If you have anything you can shed on this I would appreciate hearing about it. Best regards, Allan
Parent - - By dmilesdot (**) Date 06-12-2009 18:23