Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Purge welding of T304 sanitary tubing.
- - By C. Milligan Date 02-27-2002 21:48
Please forgive me if I omit critical details, but I am relatively new to the welding industry. I am grateful to the AWS and people like you for sharing their knowledge with me.
I work as a fabricator/ maint. tech.in a further processing plant that serves the poultry industry. Our plant utilizes T304 sanitary tubing to transport everything from cooking oil to raw product. The tubing ranges from 1-6"(approx. 0.050"-0.120" wall respectively). I am currently using the GTAW process, with 0.062" (Th 2%) electrode, 308L filler, and Argon purge to repair and fabricate our tubing systems. This has been producing excellent results with regards to internal and external weld appearance on our 1-2" tubes. The trouble I am experiencing is on the larger material. To achieve full penetration and thus the smooth "Wedding band" on the I.D., more current is required. Unfortunately, this leaves a dull gray finish on the outside of the tube. I find this unacceptable and want to reduce/eliminate it. I am using a relatively small nozzle on the torch head, and I have ordered some .750" diameter lenses as a result. Furthermore, I am utilizing the "Pulse Programmer" on our Synchrowave 300 in an effort to increase travel speed. This has helped slightly but has not eliminated the problem completely. We are passing USDA inspections with flying colors; however, I feel there is room to improve my work.
Any information on this subject, including recommended techniques, would be greatly appreciated.
Parent - By Wildturkey (**) Date 02-28-2002 12:37
Mr Milligan,