Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Is smoke from FCAW dangerous?
- - By DaveSisk (**) Date 03-19-2002 01:02
I'm using a light duty flux-cored arc welder to weld some steel angle and rods to make a table (a home project, and I'm a newbie). I'm using a hood but no respirator. I've noticed that everytime I get out in the garage working on this project, I get a major headache. I'm not purposely breathing the smoke, but I'm sure I do inhale a little of it. Is the smoke dangerous or poisonous, etc? I'm not sure if the headache comes inhaling a little of the smoke, or from simply holding my head and neck in an odd position for too long...

Any suggestions? Is the smoke dangerous?

Regards,
Dave
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 03-19-2002 04:20
Yes. You should be able to obtain a MSDS from the wire manufacturer.

The neck position could be the cause of the headache but I suggest a respirator.

Parent - By Michael Sherman (***) Date 03-19-2002 12:12
Dave, the fume plume can be extremely toxic. How toxic does depend on what you are welding. I will quote from Lincoln Electric "Safety in Welding".
"The fume plume contains solid particles from the consumables, base metal and base metal coating. Depending on the length of exposure to these fumes, most acute effects are temporary, and include sumptoms of burning eyes and skin, dizziness, nausea, and fever. Chronic long-term exposure to welding fumes can lead to siderosis (iron deposits in the lungs) and may affect pulmonary function. Manganese can affect the central nervous system. Stainless steel contains chromium and /or nickel. These can cause cancer. Cadmium, a toxic metal used as a steel coating can kill you with only 20 minutes exposure."