Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Flux core wire and slag removal??
- - By IowaBob (*) Date 03-26-2002 01:57
I have a lot of stick welding experience but am new to the MIG. I tried the MIG this weekend with my first real project (wood racks out of old steel fence posts) using the .035 flux core wire that came with the welder (no gas). Although the welds looked and held good, it took a lot more effort to clean the slag off than I'm use to with the stick. Thinking maybe it was the rusty posts, I tried the stick on a series of welds and the slag poped right off just as I'm use to. Is that the nature of the beast or might I be doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Bob
Parent - - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 03-26-2002 02:57
flux core wire runs best when you're dragging the gun. and when welding vertical, move uphill. and make sure the machine's polarity is on Electrode Negative. sometimes rust can cause problems. it tends to hold in moisture. also, MIG and flux core welding kinda looks different from stick welding. some people either tend to move too fast or too slow with a MIG welder when they're first learning. move at a pace fast enough to allow the wire to touch the leading edge of the puddle, yet, slow enough to form that nice horseshoe-shaped crater.
Parent - By IowaBob (*) Date 03-26-2002 04:26
Thanks for the reply! Polarity is okay and I was dragging and moving up on the verticle but I do have difficulty keeping the wire in just the right place. You're right, it does look a lot different than a stick and I have trouble seeing the puddle clearly in order to keep the wire positioned correcly. I'm down to a shade #9 lens but the puddle still doesn't seem to be near as clear as with the stick (seems to be a lot more smoke). I think a lot of practice is in order for me to get that feel for the process.

Bob
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 03-26-2002 17:20