Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Ideas and opinions
- - By hollywood1176 (*) Date 08-14-2009 04:29
I am new to this site although I have spent a lot of time reading and poking around . I have found a lot of useful info on many topics but still am drawing a blank on a few things I hope you can help me out with. But first Ill tell you a little about me so that you can help me better. I work for a coal mine in central AL as a first class welder (above ground maintenance crew) . I have only been welding for a living for about 4 months now, I worked underground as a deisel mechanic for 3 years, went to school for a year, getting 6 certs, pipe and structural fitting and welding inspection under my belt and passed the welding and fitting test to get outside (thank God) . I have picked up on welding pretty quick thanks to some old hands including my instructor. I really enjoy it and am trying to get set up in specialized welding ( alum and ss)  . I want to build a rig to work out of as a side line job as I work full time in the evenings and have plenty of spare time during the day. I guess after saying all that here is my questions if you made it this far. Thanks in advance for your help.

1 What type and size portable machine should I get to GTAW, GMAW, SS FCAW along with occasional SMAW?
    I really like the Lincoln inverter machines
2  What the heck is a "Hoosier Pole" ? Ive read that on one of the pipe threads
3  If you could suggest one thing as far as beds go what would it be ?
Parent - By waccobird (****) Date 08-14-2009 13:01
I think hoosier pole is to roll or hang the leads and such on. Here is a thread showing some rigs. http://www.aws.org/cgi-bin/mwf/topic_show.pl?tid=22083
Parent - - By low_hydrogen (**) Date 08-15-2009 02:52
Hoosier pole: if that's what you call it every where i go some one calls it something different.