Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / how can i sub-contract cwi services?
- - By cmg (*) Date 04-03-2002 02:49
I was told that i can do visual inspection as a sub- contractor but i'm not sure how to get started.I'm a welder of 15 years but only a one year cwi.Instead of going into the inspection field i took a promotion my company offered that made me shop foreman.(lucky me).The problem is i have little exp in the paperwork end.any advice is helpful,thank's in advance
Parent - By bmaas1 (***) Date 05-25-2002 13:52
I would be interested in knowing as well.

Brian Maas
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 05-25-2002 22:36
The paperwork end can vary from contract to contract. One of the key "skills" in the paperwork area in my opinion is having the ability to read and understand the various contract requirements.

Welder Qualifications, WPS's PQR's and NDE reports and many other documents may be required to be reviewed and sometimes prepared. A good understanding of the applicable code can give you the information you need. But it takes time. I often find myself looking at papers I revieewed or prepared years ago and find flaws.

If the contract work is just inspection of completed items, find out what the customer wants for reports and try to comply. Good recordkeeping regardless of the format is essential.

I've gotta go now. I'll provide more of my "opinion" later. Feel free to ask specifiics and I can tell you what I have done. I can't tell you the right or wrong way.

Have a pleasant day

G Austin
Iuka Miss
Parent - - By bmaas1 (***) Date 05-26-2002 15:03
I work for a company that manufactures rotating equipment(industrial fans and rotors, D14.6).
I would like to know how to gain contacts for sub-contract inspection work in construction or manufacturing. I am a CWI with MT and PT levl II.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
You can email with a response.