Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Fresh Ideas Needed
- - By ctacker (****) Date 09-05-2009 04:13
I just got a new gig as QA Manager in a busy Structural shop, We are in the process of getting AISC certified and it has been years since I have done Structural work(offer was too good to pass). Our shop uses Fabtrol (I have never used it before and have yet to use it) .
I could use some fresh Ideas on running parts thru the shop and keeping track of everything. As it stands now all my documentation is written on the QA set of drawings and Fitters/Welders  Stamps and dates entered into a QA traveler, when I reconcile the QA traveler with the Load Status Lists the drawings get Scanned with the QA traveler.
Not being Familiar with AISC Certification And Quite a few years away from A Structural Environment, I would be Interested to know how some others approach this.
Thanks in advance!
  Carl
Parent - - By bozaktwo1 (***) Date 09-05-2009 20:36
Hey, Carl, welcome to the fun-filled world of QA!  I don't really have any specific ideas for you to try, but I recommend a stroll through this website:

http://www.asq.org

I can't remember if you can browse the forums there as a non-member, but it might be worthwhile to check it out.  Good luck, keep us posted.:)
Parent - By ctacker (****) Date 09-06-2009 01:13
Hey Curt,
I have been in QA for awhile, nothing new there, But its been many years since I worked Structural. trying to keep track of the fast turnaround is a little challenging.
You need a membership for the forums at ASQ and I'm not sure it is for me right now, Its hard enough to find time for this one lately. Thanks for the link though, I will save it and keep it in memory as I may be able to check it out in the future. Thanks Again, Carl
Parent - By Mikeqc1 (****) Date 09-07-2009 20:59
I worked in an AISC shop.