Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Vickers hardness tester
- - By sdray Date 04-19-2002 14:17
I am looking to purchase a Vickers (HV10) hardness tester for use in weld testing and welding procedure qualification. Unfortunately, I have little experience with this equipment, and I need to find out who makes good equipment, and perhaps just as importantly, who to stay away from. I'm not sure this is the right place to post such a question as this, but I am having difficulty finding information other than just links to various manufacturers' websites. Any information would be greatly appreciated, whether it is about specific equipment or links to other forums or sites that would contain this sort of thing.
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 04-20-2002 09:47
You mention that you want to perform "weld testing". Does this mean that you want to perform hardness tests on production welds in the field. If this is the case, then vickers is not a very practical test. Rather, you should try to get one of the field testers that are based on the height that a steel ball bounces off the surface. A good brand name here is "Equitip". (I think that is the correct spelling.) These pieces of equipment are easy to use, relatively cheap and robust.

Once the reading is taken in the machine's own units, you can translate them via tables to any other units such as vickers, brinell etc. Obviously these readings are not "stricktly speaking" a vickers test, but in most circles the readings will be accepted when reported in Hv.

Obviously for qualifying procedures, you can section the weld and polish it. Then a vickers tester is good. - Try (who else) VICKERS.

Hope this helps

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Parent - By sdray Date 04-22-2002 12:58