Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / SMAW
- - By Laredo (*) Date 10-27-2009 01:05
I've been selected to inspect some repair work for a field fix this week. This would usually not be a problem, but in my career as a welding inspector I've always worked in a shop inspecting processes like FCAW,GMAW,SAW. Is there anything that I should be on the look out for that I would not encouter withthe other processes.

Thanks,
Laredo 
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-27-2009 01:10
What are the other processes you are trying to describe??? You can also give us as much info that you have on this "Field fix" like some specifics of the repair work you are alluding to, the conditions, etc... In other words, Don't be shy Laredo because we're here to help if we can but, you need to tell us more than what you already have okay???

Respectfully,
Henry
Parent - - By Laredo (*) Date 10-27-2009 01:44
The field fix has to due with stabilizing some light poles which have been found to have fatigue cracking in the HAZ. Because the poles are still erected, the manufacture has elected to add stiffeners (gussets) to the poles. The welding of the gussets to the shaft and the baseplate will all be done with stick. Again, I have never inspected stick welding, and am looking for some insight into some things (defects)  I may encounter that I would not with fcaw,gmaw.

Thanks,
Laredo
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-27-2009 02:01
Hi Laredo! First off, "WELDCOME TO THE WORLDS GREATEST WELDING FORUM!!!" Now that I've got that out of the way, here's my take on your situation...