Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / NDE conflict of interest?
- - By 2009933 Date 11-13-2009 01:18
Hello everyone,
I am a CWI. I have decided to go in the summer of 2010, and take the RT film interpretation course, but that is for personal benefit only.  My question is that other than a resume builder, the benefit to me getting my PT or UT LVL 2 certifications are not certain. So MY QUESTION is.. I work as an inspector using mainly section I and IX for power plants and B31.1.  When the code requires Hydro, but the customer contract states that they want "100% UT..ie linear phased ray, shear wave, etc" as an addition to code requirements, is it a conflict of interest for me to administer the UT tests as an employee of the company doing the job if I was certified to do so. I would like to know any information on this matter. If there are any references that I have missed in the NBIC or ASME code, please reference them.  Thank you all...
  "Pleasure in the job, puts perfection in the work."     - Aristotle
Parent - - By raptor34 (**) Date 11-13-2009 02:12
I believe the codes say if you are qualified then there is no conflict, but me personally I do not like to see it. Hire a contractor to do the work.
Parent - - By arrowside1 Date 11-13-2009 02:34
How would it be any different than you doing the VT?
Parent - By raptor34 (**) Date 11-13-2009 19:45
It is a little more intensive than a ut. The welder is the first line inspector, he does the vt, but I am of the opinion that a 3rd party needs to do any final testing and anything that needs a written report.
Parent - By swsweld (****) Date 11-13-2009 03:39