Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / I'm a high school student who needs help
- - By chan hawkins Date 05-11-2002 00:50
PLZ fill out my interview it determines whether or not i pass my ag-science class or not
1)What are some of the advantages of welding as a career?
2)What are some of the disadvantages of welding as a career?
3)Whats the average income of a welder?
4)Where are you from?
5)What is your name?

Plz fill this out it will help me imensely. :) Thnx.
Parent - By quality101 (*) Date 05-16-2002 21:26
Hello Chan,

I hope this message gets to you in time to allow your passing your class. My name is Steve Leach, I am currently living in Columbus, MS., and I work at a major boiler manufacturing plant in West Point, MS. where I am currently employed as a Welding Engineer. I began my career in welding 30 years ago as a Boilermaker Helper in the shipyards of Tampa, Florida.

Some of the advantages of welding as a career? One of the biggest advantages obtainable through a career in welding is one of self accomplishment in performing a task or job that not everyone or anyone can do. A person who has attained certain welding skills, however varied or at what level of expertise that person may have, they have the ability to earn income. Obviously, the more skilled that person becomes (through experience) and possessing the knowledge and the skills in several of the welding processes provides for a means to higher earning potential.