Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / joint design, electrodes, wire, -- what do schools use?
- - By weldstudent (**) Date 11-18-2009 03:25
i am a student in WA. St. i am currious as to what kind of training other schools use. what kind of joints do you train on, what kind of metal do you train with, how big are the peices you train with? what wiers and electrodes do you use and are you given peramiters or do you have to look them up?

we have to look up all peramiters for wire and electrodes. we use the biggest peices of metal possible weld all joint geomotery reconized by the AWS. we trainwith nr-232, nr-211, E7018, E6010, E70S-8. work alot with 8X8 square tube, W24X68, 8" sch 80, and a varriety of round tube between 1" and 3'. we also do a lot aluminun TIG 1/4" and 1/8" (T, LAPP, BUTT, CORNER) and we do aluminum spray and pulsed spray on 1/4" and 1/8".

i hope students and teachers will both respond.

Thanks.
Parent - By Metarinka (****) Date 11-18-2009 15:02
When I went through school I had to learn Every major Manual process.  That included SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, FCAW, SAW, and OFW.   We did all positions with both a fillet and a square or beveled butt joint with no backing.  We also did some pipe joints either stick 100% of the way out, or Tig root and stick all the way out.

I'm happy to say I learned to Tig weld on aluminum that means that by the time I went to stainless steel and steel it seemed so easy!

When I went to another welding school in Pennsylvania I didn't repeat many classes but the only thing that really changed is that we prepped our own material, generally used thicker 1-2" plate, and would multi bead everything.  In Michigan we focused more  on thin plate and open root joints, the theory being that if you can lay down a single pass weld on open root 14-16 ga, then you can multi pass thicker material.