Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / SUNY Delhi or SUNY Alfred Welding Course for a teenager?
- - By alarmclock Date 11-20-2009 23:32
Greetings.

My son wants to be a welder.  I'm wondering what people think of SUNY colleges as a start?  He has some BOCES Welding from high school.
I wasn't too impressed with what I saw at SUNY.  I'm a former welder and they seem to be teaching old and obsolete stuff like gas welding and brazing, stuff I was taught in the 1970's.  I know it's still used on occassion but the instructors, while real nice guys, were very.. well how to say this----OLD.  They were 65 years old or even older and have not worked in the field since the mid 1980's.  These guys knew welding but the lack of modern equipment was a warning sign to me.  the shop looked like a time capsul from the 1970's.   The emphasis on gas welding was huge!   I wasn't too impressed with the school, not to mention the cost.  They do offer an Associates Degree in Welding Technology but the cost is huge compared to what they learn.  The weld shop I toured was pretty beat up for a SUNY college.  Real old welding machines, clutter, mess, piles of crap, etc.  I'm wondering if anyone can suggest an alternative?  My son wants to go here as there are girls all over the place on campus (not so much in the welding class).  I want him to try and get into a union apprenticeship or go to Hobart or Lincoln maybe?  Can anyone help me out on this?  Thanks
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 11-21-2009 03:46 Edited 11-21-2009 07:02
[deleted]
Parent - - By alarmclock Date 11-22-2009 00:08 Edited 11-22-2009 00:48
WOW!  Thanks for the reply!