Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / pipe welding advice
- - By zincsvtcobra (*) Date 11-25-2009 20:20
I am in welding school and should be threw in May.  I have 4 years mig and tig experience.  What steps should i take to get a pipe welding job?  What pay can i expect?  I will travel anywhere!!!!!!!!!

Thanks,
Mike
Parent - - By rick harnish (***) Date 11-26-2009 03:26
Man, that is a broad question. The fact you are willing to travel anywhere suggests righand, no?
I would find a shop that does xray pipe such as CO2 recovery skids or even compressor packages. Perfect your hand while we are in this downturn before sinking money in a rig you will find hard to put to work at this point.
When you land this job, take every weld as a personal challenge to be better than the last. From the root pass out, inspect, evaluate, and improve. School gets you rolling, but NOTHING beats experience! The competition is TOUGH!!
KEEP ON THAT TIG!! Stainless pipe creds will further your employability.
Pay will always vary. Depends on where you are and the skill level involved. As well as the number of hands calling a given number seeking employment.
Parent - By scrappywelds (***) Date 11-26-2009 04:54
If you want to learn alot of welding skills hire on at a papermill for some repuptable industrial contractor, you could weld about every metal possible with just about any process at any time.
Parent - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 11-26-2009 13:57
I think this question calls for the advice of the WORLD"S BEST PIPEWELDER AND HIS SIDEKICK. okwelder82 and DONKEY PUNCH. Maybe they will grace you with an answer. Not really, Listen to Rick.
Parent - By DONKEY PUNCH Date 11-26-2009 15:01