Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Some questions from a young welder.
- - By hool10 Date 11-30-2009 00:01
I became a welder because I love the trade but also I was told I would get paid A LOT and have a job. I graduated from a technical high school in 2006 with:

HS Diploma
SENSE: Entry Level (only person in the class)
OSHA 10 hours
NIMS: Metalforming I

I couldn't find a welding job in high school. I was told I was too in-experienced or there were no jobs. So I went into a technical college in hopes to get more experience, a college degree, and a possible job. I graduated from the college in 2008 with an Associate in Welding Technology. In fact I got a 2.74 GPA which is pretty good. I learned a ton of stuff including 6G code welding. I still couldn't find a job until a friend introduced me to a guy not advertising his heat exchanger company. I got a job there from May to Nov. 26 when I was laid off.

Since then I have applied at least 40 various companies ranging from MA (where I'm based), NH, SC, TX. I have received a total of 5 I think interviews all refusing to hire me based on experience level. The only jobs I have seen in this area is spot welding boxes. I ran out of un-employment insurance and I'm very lucky I can live with my parents. That is the entire problem though. I'm 22, out of college with an Associate Degree in Welding, multiple certs, no experience, and now a year with no job.

Now my experience is not unique neither. My friends who graduated with me got laid off and some remain at their job because they got extremely lucky. In fact the 45 year old guy who graduated with me didn't get laid off but remained there. He was rather popular talking about his war stories but couldn't weld (and the manager even joked about him).