Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Safety / Source for Confined Space Monitors/Detectors??
- - By awspartb (***) Date 12-07-2009 01:29 Edited 12-07-2009 01:35
Hi,
I'm a welder and would like to purchase my own personal Confined Space monitor.  The costs of these seem to be very high and I was wondering if anyone knows of a good quality monitor that test for O2 levels and Carbon Monoxide as a minimum.  Are any available for $200 or less?  The ones I'm finding are priced in the $800 to $3000 range.  I just want something small that I can take into the confined areas with me as I don't trust the crap monitors my contractor is providing.  If I complain or make it a safety issue I'll just get laid off/ let go.  That's what's happening these days.  There are hundreds of unemployed waiting to take my place in this job market so it's better that I just buy my own.  Any suggestions appreciated.  Thanks.
Parent - - By Superflux (****) Date 12-08-2009 00:43
awspartb,
"the crap monitors my contractor is providing."
Those are the $200 items you're looking for! The very same ones your contractor is providing! When it comes to safety equipment (or anything for that matter), you typically get what you pay for!
Do you want to get asphyxiciated because you trusted a $200 Harbor Freight O2 monitor that failed? If so, your family will enjoy the proceeds from the lengthy and expensive lawsuit....

Better yet, go ahead and be a whistle blower, I've been out of work for a while!
What project are you on????.....
Parent - - By awspartb (***) Date 12-08-2009 01:45 Edited 12-08-2009 02:04