Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Question regarding my certification level
- - By xmikeyx Date 12-13-2009 04:33
Ok so I work at a fab shop and I was asked to bring in my certifications. Which are Basic welding course and GTAW course. Took both at the local tech school and passed. Now I dont want to be the fall guy if anything goes wrong. I don't think the other 2 welders at the shop are certified at all. I am worried about giving my paper work as I dont want to used by the company so they can say they have a welder on board, while the other two welders are welding under my paper work. 

You get what I am saying? Am I looking to far into it? Im new in the field and in the day of age when everyone gets sued I just want to cover my ass.
Parent - - By Blaster (***) Date 12-13-2009 05:00
Hi Mikey.

I think you may not be clear on what a certifcation is.  Completion of a course of study is not in itself a certification.

In our trade certifications are based on code or standard specific performance tests and acceptance criteria.
Parent - - By xmikeyx Date 12-13-2009 05:10
I kinda figured that. I thought going into this job I am at I was going to be working under welders who were certified. And I would be able to go back to school while working and get certified myself.

I am kind of in between a rock and hard place as I can't afford to lose this job, but my work ethic and business ethic instilled in me by my grand parents and parents keeps me awake at night knowing product is leaving the shop knowing it could possibly be welded wrong.
Parent - - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 12-13-2009 18:29
I hate to tell you this but you are not "certified" to anything. You have qualification papers that were given/earned by the school you attended. This was on a welding procedure using a process on materials specified by the schools welding procedure.