Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / WPS, WQTR Database
- - By Louis (*) Date 05-29-2002 19:39
I guess you could say that I'm making go-carts. I am just a high school welding instructor. I want to be able to write more procedures and get them tested and documented so my students can benefit. I am doing these strictly for teaching purposes, no production of any kind. I feel D1.1 limits me and with ASME Section IX, until recently everything had to be procedure tested. I like the open root stuff, especially when different processes are used for the root and another type for the fill. I believe them to be more challenging and that’s exactly what I think the welding field is, “Challenging”. There are an infinite amount of tests that a welder can challenge himself/herself with if the testing facility just has the documentation on site. There in lies the problem; how to document and track all the WPS, PQR and WQTR documentation you generate. Not to mention the fact that I’m dealing with two different codes, which have their own specific type of documentation that must be done. I would like to have one form that could be used with both codes.
I like the gentleman’s database he had set up on access but access does not let you compact your database so your database will probably wind up being too big for storage on a disk. Just a small inconvenience I admit with today’s cd technology, but I do work on more than one computer. I need to know a little more about access to be able to adapt it for my needs. The C-spec stuff was great, but expensive. The personnel at C-spec were very helpful. They seem like good people. The problem is my little school just can’t afford it.