Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / WPS Qualification
- - By machugaa Date 12-31-2009 14:30
Please forgive how basic this question is, but I'm a quality inspector who has recently taken over the reigns on a developing quality department for a metal fabrication company. Among the tasks I've been given is to write/rewrite our Welding Procedures so that we may properly qualify them.  I'm not really sure where to begin!  I've been reading AWS B2.1, D1.1-1.3 and I really don't feel like I'm any closer to a starting point.

What is clear is that a bulk of our production will be covered by D1.3 due to our heavy focus on Sheet Steel. We'll also have coverage under D1.2 for our growing aluminum business, and D1.6 for our stainless work. 

I've seen the sample qualification forms and they look like they'll cover what I need to do, but I'd really love some practical advice on where to go.  Seriously, is there an AWS for Dummies book? Not even joking!

Thanks,
Aaron
Parent - By waccobird (****) Date 12-31-2009 15:17
machugaa
Aaron
Welcome to the Forum
Having mainly a Structural background I don't really have the information at my disposal to properly answer.
But the individual codes will have the requirements for WPS's and the PQR's that may need to be done and tested to qualify them.
For beginners if you are not familiar with the development of WPS's you might want to start with your most experienced welding personnel to help you set the variables.
It is not a task that just can be done by anyone so fess up if you feel uncomfortable and don't waste the companies time.
You might find a procedure that is known as a SWPS or Standard Weld Procedure Specification these are written up and sold by AWS. You might be able to buy some and write the wps's you need without further testing from these.
A wps needs to be written for every weld and every process your shop produces.