Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / My first welding attempt...
- - By TimH Date 06-12-2002 01:01

I'm a hobbyist who makes telescopes. I recently received a small arc welder as a gift (I've never welded before). Last week I had a chance to try it out. I would appreciate some advice.

I know welding is a real skill-- I plan on taking a welding course that offered next fall at a nearby tech institute, and I've read a book on arc welding. This summer I would just like to get to the point on my own where I can pratice running short beads. For this first attempt I just wanted to practice striking the arc and keeping it going.

My welder is a Chicago Electric one that runs on 115v and goes up to about 70 amps. I'm using 1/16" 6013 rods. My practice piece was a flat piece of galvanized steel, about 2" wide, three feet long, and I think 1/16" thick.

I started with the current deliberately low just to get the feel of things (I was also worried about blowing fuses, etc.). As I increased the current to 60-70amps it got much easier to strike and maintain the arc. But the bead would just sit very high on the surface of the steel-- the steel didn't seem to melt at all (I kept looking for a little molten pool like my book says, but nothing). The flat didn't even seem to get too hot-- I could touch it a few seconds after stopping the arc.

I would appreciate some help:

1. I came across something that said galvanized steel produces toxic fumes. I won't use it again. I know I'm supposed to use "mild" steel. Home Depot sells steel rods and flats. Some are zinc plated (which I understand I can't use-- fumes) and the non-zinc plated ones are marked "plain." Does "plain" mean "mild"? These "plain" ones have a rough, gray surface. What makes steel "mild"?

2. Is galvanized steel unusually hard to weld? Was that why it wouldn't melt?