Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Please tell me this is wrong.........
- - By flamin (**) Date 01-28-2010 20:35 Edited 01-28-2010 20:49
I just ran across something that I just had to share with you all. I'm going over some drawings for a job, and in the list of notes, the engineer calls out to weld in accordance to D1.2, and goes on to list SEVERAL of the quality requirements associated with the code.............yada yada.......Apparently he really wants to make sure everything is done just right. No problem. Then down towards the bottom of the list of notes, there is a note that says,.........and I quote " Crater cracks and overlap not exceeding .38 in length ARE acceptable at the origin and termination of all welds" WTF kind of call out is that? I'm not an engineer, but.........

Jason
Parent - - By ctacker (****) Date 01-28-2010 20:57
Maybe he had a welder review and add his own notes :)
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 01-29-2010 14:27
On the other hand, it is amazing how one little three letter word can make a MAJOR difference in how general notes get interpreted.

I would be willing to bet that someone dropped 'NOT' out of the sentence.  BUT, I am not an engineer either and I sure didn't write that set of notes.  Definitely time for an RFI in my opinion.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 01-29-2010 16:59