Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Miller Dynasty TIG
- - By Greg Schilling Date 02-15-2010 21:52
Hello,  I have had a Miller Dynasty for several years, and have had mixed success with welding aluminum in general.  Most of the problem may be that I am a hobbyist, and am not too practiced in the art of TIG welding.  Most of the aluminum that I weld consists of small things, and nothing is over 1/8" thick.  Up until this weekend, I had been pretty sure that I had a nice machine, and that almost all of the fault fell on my lack of experience.  That all changed though, when a welder who owns a successful welding business came to my house, and said that the inverter types of machines are not very good on aluminum.  He suggested getting rid of the Dynasty, and getting a basic machine instead.  I have been using straight argon, and thoriated tungsten.  Any thoughts?  Thank you,  Greg
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 02-16-2010 00:02
Hello Greg, I wouldn't be too hasty in getting rid of this machine. By chance was this individual interested in "taking it off your hands for you"? The Dynasty line of inverter tigs is among a group of machines that will produce extremely sound welds on all different grades of aluminum. You may need a bit of help to figure out how to fully utilize all of the functions and capabilities of your machine, but I don't believe I would buy into his particular line of thinking. I believe his statements might be based more on his being used to transformer/rectifier machines and possibly not having used the inverters enough to realize their potential. Stay tuned for others comments, I believe they will likely echo what I've included here. Best regards, Allan
Parent - - By Blaster (***) Date 02-16-2010 00:23 Edited 02-16-2010 00:33
Hi Greg

The Dynasty machines do a great job on aluminum... especially on thin aluminun.