Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Is just having a CWI not good enough anymore?
- - By Brennan Date 02-16-2010 16:38
This is just bull s#%t! Is having just a CWI not good enough anymore? Now you need to be a CWI with MT, PT, UT, and RT certs. So how are CWIs that don't have these supposed to get any work? What's next? Are you going to have to have an Engineering degree along with those certs to obtain a job.  What the hell is going on? I've been welding and fitting for the past 16 years and got my CWI a little over 2 and half years ago. And since I don't have those certs or 500 years of experience, I cant find a good inspecting job. I had a good qc job and gave it 110% because I wanted to learn as much as I could and really excel at my new career. I was doing well, making relationships with the customer and gaining respect from them and my coworkers. The next thing I know I'm pulling a knife out of my back from being double crossed. Now, I'm back on my tools because I can't find a good inspection job.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 02-16-2010 17:00
Thats really pretty much how it's always been.. (not the knife part)

The best compensation is going to go to inspectors with a broad range of skills...  Not that different from welders..  The more varied process/fitting skills you have the more your worth.

I don't think top pay has ever gone to inspectors with just visual inspection experience.

It doesn't help much today... But next time you get that QC position it would be worth your while to expand your education on the job...  Take a class or seminar in MT, PT, UT or RT...  Your local AWS section will point you to where the training is going on...  In the two and a half years since you earned that CWI there was ample time for you to continue learning so you could land on your feet when that knife appears.