Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / CTOD testing
- - By GRoberts (***) Date 06-24-2002 21:53
Does anyone have any experience with CTOD testing? I may have to be doing some of it shortly, and any experience or advise you can relate would be helpfull.

Thanks
Parent - - By Mikeomni1 (*) Date 06-26-2002 14:43
My company performs tons of CTOD testing each year. I am no expert, but I have a good deal of experiance with the testing of them and I know several experts in the field. What would you like to know?

Regards,
Mike Mason
Bodycote Materials Testing.
Parent - - By GRoberts (***) Date 06-26-2002 15:55
Specific questions that come to mind, right now are:

1. I have heard that there are a lot of invalid tests that occur when testing the HAZ. Is there anything that can be done during welding to minimize this?

2. Do you use the B x 2B x W, or compact specimens? Which is easier, or cheaper to use?

3. Any other pitfalls, or common mistakes for first time testers.

Thanks
Parent - - By Mikeomni1 (*) Date 06-27-2002 17:27
Here are the answers to your questions as has been my experience.

1. I have heard that there are a lot of invalid tests that occur when testing the HAZ. Is there anything that can be done during welding to minimize this?