Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Cert help
- - By fnjoey Date 02-22-2010 14:25
Hello everyone,

Need some help with getting certified. My back story, I'm self taught in MIG, been doing it for a few years now, and while I'm not pro, I'm not horrible at it. Last year, the company I work for really screwed me over and I realized how unhappy I was, and I'm going NO WHERE with this company (non industry). So I looked into welding, since I like doing and find it very fun, I figured why not make money doing something I like to do. So I found a local technical college that had an adult welding program on saturdays (my work schedule keeps me form going during the week). In the course description, they state at the end of the class (roughly 8 month class) you get certified. Awesome I think as that's what I want.  Well last week I found you don't get certified... I'm not to happy about it as I really need to start a career (I'm 32) and get my life together..  So now I'm kind of stuck on what to do next.. I've learned stick (ARC) in this class, learned some more MIG and now I'm learning TIG which I REALLY love doing although it's difficult.  I guess my question is, what do I get certified in? I've been browsing through the site and noticed there are a TON of different certs, so now I'm really confused.. I would liek to get a welding job come JUNE, but now I feel it isn't going to happen.. any help to point me in the right direction is appreciated.

Joe.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 02-22-2010 14:56
Welcome to the forum Joey

Much depends on your local job market.  If you are planning to stay where you are, than you need to focus your training on the type of work that may become available.

Do some research on your local manufacturing, construction, machine tool types of employers and find out what they are donig... What processes?  Which Alloys? all that stuff..