Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Schedule 160 socket weld
- - By Oliver1850 Date 02-27-2010 01:07 Edited 02-27-2010 01:11
What is the correct technique for welding a socket joint (fillet) 5G position on 3" schedule 160 pipe (SMAW)  Is it a weave pattern or stringer beads?  How many passes?  Mild steel pipe.
Parent - - By mightymoe (**) Date 02-27-2010 19:15
What process? GTAW, SMAW, ect.? What does your wps say?
Parent - - By Oliver1850 Date 02-27-2010 19:41
SMAW........I have no guidance at this moment for the weld
Parent - - By mightymoe (**) Date 02-27-2010 21:18
Use the search form on this site. There are some good threads that state what certain codes say. Thay will help you figure what size weld that you need.
As far as how to make the weld: I have no experience making socket welds with SMAW process. If I had to using 7018, I would weld from bottom up and use stringers.
I'm sure some with more experience and book smarts will give you more helpfull info/assistance.
Parent - - By scrappywelds (***) Date 03-01-2010 02:31
keep it under a 1/2" fillet unless you want to PWHT. I would do a root, then a pass over that, last a 2 bead stringer cap with 3/32" rods.
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 03-01-2010 18:42
The correct weld size is based on the thickness of the branch pipe wall and the particulars of the piping code you are working with. The size will vary from one piping code to the next. The need to post weld heat treat is also dependent of the particular pipe code you are working with.