Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Copy protection on AWS literature?
- - By Metarinka (****) Date 03-01-2010 17:00
color me surprised. we bought several pdf versions of AWS specs. as an engineer I don't have purchasing power so it goes through our purchasing agent then he placed it on a network drive.  Well apparently there's some sort of copy protection on the file. I can't open the pdf now, only he can.

I'm thinking this has got to be our own internal network issues, I've never heard of PDF's with DRM.   anyways very inconvenient, he has no use for welding codes and I don't feel like printing 800 pages
what to do, what to do?
Parent - - By HgTX (***) Date 03-01-2010 17:09
That is exactly how AWS does their PDFs.  It goes on ONE computer.  Which makes it less useful than owning ONE book, because at least you can pick up the one book from the library shelf and take it to your desk.  This is like having one book with a 2-ft. chain whose other end is nailed to the desk of whoever first opened the book.

The idea is to have one-person use  for a single purchase.  I assume they also have network pricing but I could be wrong.  Unfortunately they don't make it very clear that it gets stuck on the first computer it's downloaded on.  You could try having him delete the file from the network drive and put it on your workstation.  If that doesn't work, he can call AWS and tell them he put the file on the wrong workstation and ask them how to go about moving it.

A better option is their new flash drive PDFs.  Those work more like a library hardcopy--whoever has the flash drive in their hand can open it on whatever computer they're on--which makes sense for places where people move from workstation to workstation, or from their desktop to their laptop.  AWS might be willing to let y'all swap out if you didn't know the flash drives existed.